Episode 15 : Hostile Takeover

Scene 1.
An elegant suburban house on the outskirts of Alice Springs, large ornate fencing surrounds the home, at one side of the home is a three car garage and on the other side a swimming pool.

Inside, Mr Gilbertson is in the drawing room, pacing up and down in the drawing room, talking on a mobile phone.

“…what are you talking about!?” he yells to the person on the other end of the phone.

“There’s been a hostile takeover bid by an external party and our directors have been swayed in their favour.” The voice repeated.

“Wha..? Wait a second, what happened to our White Knight?” he questioned.

“Looks like she’s involved too.” The voice explained.

“That bitch!” He yells, banging his clenching his fist against his thigh.

“Ok, you’d better hang up, I’ve got a phone call to make.” He pushes the hang up button hard, then pushes buttons to make a new call.

“Come on, come on…” he puffs.
“Hello, Brian, I’ve been expecting your call.” A familiar female voice answered coldly.
“What the hell are you playing at?” He shouted.
“Brian, it’s best we talk face to face.” She replied.
“You’d better get your butt down here ASAP, you’ve got a lot of explaining to do!” he yelled.
“I’ll be there in 4 days, until then, be careful, there’s some very dangerous people heading your way.” She warned.
“Eloise, is that a threat!?” He grunted.
“Brian, it’s not me you need to fear. It would be wise to keep that in mind.” Eloise calmly assured him.

Scene 2
Miles is sitting at a dining table talking to Charlotte. They are drinking tea and Miles is shaking his head.
“Take it as a compliment.” Charlotte says.
“I’m impressed that you found us. You’d make a great detective.” She continued.
“But I still don’t get it.” He put his elbows on the table and opens his palms up to the air.
“What is going on here?” He asked.
“It’s Aaron, Miles, he’s in danger.”
“Aaron..? Little Aaron, Claire’s baby?” He confirmed.
“Yes, Aaron.” She said.
“So what does that have to do with me and why are your dead relatives sending me on a wild goose chase to some backward country?” He sighed.
“Hey, come on, we do have electricity here!” She smiled.
Miles sits back in the chair and relaxes.
“Sorry Charlotte, It’s been a long trip and I’m tired.” He explained.
“It’s getting late, look, stay for dinner and I’ll explain everything.” She offered.
Miles threw his arms in the air and then behind his head.
“What the hell. I’ve got nothing better to do.” He put his hands down on the table and shook his head again.

Scene 3
Miles is eating with Charlotte and Richard, Richard has his head in a downward stance and Charlotte appears to be very upright and calm.
“So, you see Miles, there’s a lot of people who where rather upset when they found out my dad was a fake. That’s why there’s been reporters, that’s why…”
“I was trying to protect her.” Richard interrupted.
“You see, Miles, it’s Charlotte that’s the real psychic. We needed the money, so I pretended to be a psychic and used her to obtain information about our clients.” He explained, then continued:
“I hope you can understand, my daughter has a god given gift! I did what I thought was best.”
Miles just smirked, then replied:
“Hey, I’ve done worse.” He said with conviction.
“So.” Richard tried to lighten the conversation.
“Miles, how is it that you have the same abilities as Charlotte?”
Miles eyes look around nervously and simply says:
“I guess I was just, lucky. I suppose. So. Now what happens?” He asked.
“Miles, I know this is a big ask. I know you’ve been through a lot. But you need to make sure that Aaron does end up in the darkness.” Charlotte explains.
Miles’s eyes just look at the table and asks:
“What exactly does that mean?”

Scene 4:
Kate is walking along a city street and walks past a travel agents window.
She looks at the sign, then smiles and walks through the glass door.
She looks at the brochures and grabs a few.
A voice, with a strong Australian accent, from a room behind the counter yells out:
“Don’t tell me what I can’t do!” Then hangs up and walks out to greet Kate.
“Sorry, miss, damn bus operators think they run the world! How can I help you?”
Kate pauses for a moment, a little dumbstruck by the familiarity of his anger, then she says:
“Umm, well, I’ve been thinking about talking a tour around the center of Australia.”
“Right. Well, you’ve come to the right place! After all, our sign does say “Sydney Walkbout Tours”.
She turns her head to the large sign on the front glass, surprised she did not see it there.
“Right.” She said bashfully.
“Well, there’s a great tour running every month that goes for 8 days through the outback, it’s great value and includes a tour of some local Aboriginal towns, a visit to a faith healer and even a tour of the world’s largest Iron Ore mine.” He detailed.
“Well, that sounds like a bizarre combination.” She replied.
“Yeah, well, the mining company subsidise the whole shebang, so it works out better value than most.”
“Right.” Kate nods.
“Well, does it cater for kids?” She enquired.
“How old is your child?” He asked.
“Oh, no, not my child, I’ll be travelling with a friend and she has a 6 year old.” She explained.
“Perfect!” He exclaimed.
“Kids under 8 travel for free. The government consider it an educational tour.”
“Right, ok. Sounds… interesting.” She pondered.
“Here, take these brochures, here’s my card. Call me if you’re interested and I’ll be glad to help.”
He hands over a card to her and she reads it.
His name reads “Andrew Romer”.
“Ok, thanks… Andrew.” I’ll talk to my friend and see what she thinks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

