Ep 6 “Fortune”

Scene 1. Walt, Ji Yeon and her grandmother are sitting at the dining table and Bpo Bpo is lying at Walt’s feet.

The Grandmother says in her limited English:
“So… Walter, why did you come to Korea?”
Walt replies: “I was… in hospital, you know, sick, for a while, and when I got out, I went home felt like I needed to see the world.”
She replied: “Oh, I see.” She pauses. “So will you be in Korea for long?”
Walt: “Another 4 days, I have some things to do.” He confirms.
She changes to subject and continues to ask Walt questions in her limited English:
“It costs a lot to travel, I think maybe teaching English is not good enough for this. How can you make money?”
Walt replies excitedly “Well, I was lucky enough to receive a deposit in my bank account of $83000, so that helped!”
“83000 American dollars? You must have done something good to get such a fortune?” She concluded.
Walt just shrugged his shoulders and said : “Well, I had a bet with a friend on mine and… well… that’s a long story.”
“Walt, I wish you could stay in Korea longer.” she pleaded.
Walt replied: “I wish I could stay, but I can’t stay long.”
She replies: “So what do you do that is so important?”
“Public Relations.” Walt replied politely.

“Oh” she replies, not really knowing how to respond, so she changes the subject again: “Walter, it is not normal to see people like you in Korea.” She says, lowering her head a little.
“I know.” He acknowledged. “A lot of Korean people I have met have not even seen an African American before. But that’s ok. It doesn’t worry me.”
“Yes, of course.” She replies, then asks:
“What about your family? Don’t they miss you?”
“Well both my parents are dead, I’m afraid. And my grandmother’s in a nursing home.” He said.
“Oh, I am sorry for your loss” she said, lowering her head, then she turns her head to look at a Ji Yeon who is looking rather sad.
She tries to change the subject again.
“Oh, we have American TV if you like?” She smiles.
“Sure!” he replies.
Ji Yeon turns on the TV and switches the channel. A special documentary show is on.
“…and just like a Pirate adventure story, these people are about to embark on an amazing adventure into the unknown. Islands never before explored, possibly with hidden treasures? Who knows!” a voice announces.
There is a smart looking ship that looks like a rescue vessel, equipped with a helicopter on board and satellight equipment.
“In one month time, this ship is due to depart and we have exclusive access, we’ll take you on board what will become…
‘The search for Oceanic Island’, where survivors from flight 815 where held captive for years, went back, risked their lives and lived to tell the tale.” The voice continued.

Walt looks at his watch and says : “I’m so sorry, I lost track of time, please forgive me, I have an appointment to go to.”
Ji Yeon looks sad, her grandmother says “Oh. That’s a shame. Ji Yeon will see you next week?” she asked.
“Ummm, maybe. Sorry, it’s just that, well… I have something important to deal with. I am not sure how long I’ll be away.”
“Away?” she asked, “where are you going?”
“Home.” Walt replied, then stood up to leave, but then stopped suddenly.
“Oh, I almost forgot. I have something for you, my little flower.” He said to Ji Yeon. And he reaches inside his coat pocket and pulls out a glass ballerina.
“Ahhh! It’s beautiful!” She says and smiles.
“Your mum had one just like it. Take care of it and you will be taken care of.” Walt said calmly. Bpo Bpo followed him to the door, then Walt left.

—- 4 weeks later —-

Scene 2.
Flash to a Coast Guard dock, there is a coast guard ship, with helicopter on board. A man is walking along the dock, then he stops, looks a the ship and the helicopter.
Another man walks from behind, then stops next to him.
“God knows, this thing has must have cost a fortune, but finally, we’re ready. Are you ready, Captain?” A voice asks.
“I keep telling you people, this is a waste of time” Captian Lapidus states.

“Well, someone thinks it is worth the time and they pay the bills.” The person replies.
Captain Lapidus walks along the dock, then walks up a platform to get onto the boat.
A voice from the deck calls out:
“Welcome aboard Captian Lapidus. Let’s go find your Island”.
Captain Lapidus looks around the boat, it is well equipped and there are people scrubbing the deck and preparing equipment. One of the deck hands stops and looks down at the Captain. It is Sam Thomas.
Captain Lapidus mumbles to himself:
“God help us all”

Scene 3:
Flash to a school for young children. Cassidy is at the gate, waiting for Clementine. Clementine comes through a door of a classroom and runs towards her mum. In the foreground is a car, sitting in the seat is a man with short hair and wearing a suit. He looks at his watch, the time is 3:16pm.
He gets out of the car, he strides towards Cassidy and Clementine with purpose.
Cassidy does not notice him at first, but then she stops and looks up towards the man.
She can’t believe who it is. She is confused and dumbstruck. She looks up and down, looking at the man.
“Well, what do you think?” A familiar voice asks.
“What the hell are you doing here, Sawyer?” She asks angrily.
“Or should I say, James.” She concludes, then asks:
“And what the hell did you do to your hair?”
Sawyer just grits his teeth and asks:
“Can we go grab coffee somewhere?”

Scene 4:
Local suburban coffee shop. Cassidy sits opposite Sawyer and Clementine sits to the side, she is drinking a milkshake and playing with the straw.
Sawyer looks at her with amazement.
Cassidy notices this and gets uncomfortable:
“So, why are you hear?” she promptly asks.
“I… just wanted to see… to make sure you’re doing ok.” He replies.
“That’s it?” she huffs. “We’re doing fine, thank you”
They both look a little uncomfortable, Clementine looks disinterested and continues to drink.
“…so… what are you doing with yourself now?” Sawyer asks.
“I’m in futures. You know, selling stocks and shares. Making a fortune.” She announces proudly, then asks:
“What’s wrong Sawyer? What’s happened to you? You seem… different.”
“It’s probably the hair.” He says with annoyance.
“So, what’s really going on?” she asks.
“Well, since getting back from… you know. You probably saw it on TV… I’ve been trying to keep a low profile. I get noticed on the street sometimes and it really urks me.” Said Sawyer.
“Sawyer, shy? You have changed.” She laughed, then asked seriously: “But that still doesn’t explain why you’re really here.”
“I suppose I just wanted to see her.” He opens up and relaxes a little, then continues: “Look, I don’t want this to be like Little house on the Prairie, but I was just hoping I could see her, from time to time, you know… birthdays, that kind of thing.” He pleaded.
“I suppose there’s no harm in it. But this does not mean I forgive you.” She concluded.
“Heck, that’s better than nothing.” He replies, then they both smile.
“And what is Sawyer doing these days, apart from hiding from ‘paparazzi’?” she asks with a cheeky grin on her face.
“Not sure yet, was thinking of being a cop.” He said.
“Ha, there’s a laugh.” She replied.
“Well, I gotta friend who has a friend who’s a cop. Recon’s he needs people who have got what they call ‘street smarts’” he smiles cheekily.

Scene 5
Flash to another coffee shop in a busy city area. Miles is sitting with a disgruntled look on his face. A person in a police uniform is sitting opposite him.
“…me, a cop?” He laughs.
“We could use a man with your… talents.” The police officer said, as his face comes into view, it is revealed to be officer Walton.
“nyeah, I don’t know, it sounds like a desk job to me.” Miles questions.
“No such thing in our precinct. Strictly hands-on” Walton states.
“Hmmm… I’ll think about it” Miles says and then drinks his coffee.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ep 6 “Fortune”

  1. InTheDale says:

    Glad to see you back to writing. I look forward to the next chapters.

Leave a Reply

